Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Site Search
First Nations in Alberta
Share |


We acknowledge that we are on traditional territories in Alberta of the many First Nations, Métis, and Inuit whose footsteps have marked these lands for centuries.”

Free Online Course - Indigenous Canada

The U of A Faculty of Native Studies is excited to announce that Indigenous Canada opens for registration February 21, 2017.

Indigenous Canada is a Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. This non-credit version is available online for free on Coursera to anyone anywhere in the world.


Class starts March 20.


Learn more and register online today at



First Nations in Alberta


In Alberta there are:

  • 45 First Nations in three treaty areas
  • 140 reserves
  • Approximately 812,771 hectares of reserve land

The most commonly spoken First Nations languages are:
Blackfoot; Cree; Chipewyan; Dene; Sarcee; and Stoney (Nakoda Sioux)



Treaty 8

  • Signed at Lesser Slave Lake in 1899
  • Covers portions of northern Alberta, British Columbia, Saskatchewan and part of Northwest Territories
  • 24 Alberta First Nations


Treaty 6

  • Signed at Carlton and Fort Pitt in 1876
  • Covers central Alberta and Saskatchewan
  • 16 Alberta First Nations


Treaty 7

  • Signed at the Blackfoot Crossing of Bow River and Fort Macleod in 1877
  • Covers southern Alberta
  • 5 Alberta First Nations



Provincial publication offers information about Aboriginal people

The intent of this publication is to help Albertans gain awareness and understanding of Aboriginal people in the province.


Alberta welcomes final report of Truth and Reconciliation Commission


Alberta’s Expression of Reconciliation


Alberta's K-12 Joint Commitment to Action



Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada Reports and Findings




download PDF



LINK here to a detailed Map of Alberta Reserves, Métis Settlements and Treaty area boundaries.


The Alberta School Councils’ Association is very proud to have partnered with the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation to bring about awareness of the positive actions and relationships being developed, such as including Indigenous history in our curriculum. Our province is leading the way in taking and being part of a movement in shifting cultural understanding and attitudes.


The following acknowledgements of being on Treaty Lands is appropriate for a public gathering in specific areas:


Treaty 6

"I’d like to acknowledge that we are on Treaty 6 territory, a traditional meeting grounds, gathering place, and travelling route to the Cree, Saulteaux (So-toe), Blackfoot, Métis, Dene (De-nay) and Nakota Sioux (Sue). We acknowledge all the many First Nations, Métis, and Inuit whose footsteps have marked these lands for centuries."


Treaty 7

"I’d like to acknowledge that we are on Treaty 7 territory, the traditional territories of the Blackfoot Nations, including Siksika (Sick-sick-ah), Piikani (Pee-can-ee), and Kainai (Kigh-a-nigh), the Tsuut’ina (Soot- ina  **a bit of a stop after the t),  Nation and Stoney Nakoda First Nations. We acknowledge all the many First Nations, Métis, and Inuit whose footsteps have marked these lands for centuries."


Treaty 8

"I want to acknowledge that we are meeting on Treaty 8 territory and we honour and acknowledge all of the First Nations, Métis and Inuit peoples who have lived, traveled and gathered on these lands for thousands of years."






Alberta School Councils' Association (ASCA)
#1200, 9925-109 Street
Edmonton, AB T5K 2J8

Phone: 780-454-9867 Toll Free: 1-800-661-3470
Fax: 780-455-0167